All Collections
Feature Deep Dives
Save, Access, and Export Analyses
Save, Access, and Export Analyses
Vicky Li Schmidt avatar
Written by Vicky Li Schmidt
Updated this week

Rev. Date February 16, 2024

Saving Views

What is a saved view?

If there are managers or portfolios you are monitoring on a recurring basis, you can set them up in Analysis or Compare and save each configuration as a “saved view.” Analysis is where you can run different sets of analyses available on Venn for evaluating a single investment or portfolio. Compare provides quick metrics and high level analytics in a tabular format to help evaluate multiple investments and/or portfolios at once.

A saved view remembers the investments or portfolios, the Analysis template, and additional configurations, both generic (analysis period, relative to benchmark, etc.) and template-specific (scenario list, drawdown threshold, etc.). It allows you to access the analyses you have already configured at a later time with refreshed data.

Reports and templates created in Studio and/or Report Lab can be saved as well.

Some ways to use saved views:

  • Quarterly Portfolio Performance Report - Save a view of your portfolios with a quarterly reporting template and easily access up-to-date charts on a recurring basis.

  • Monthly Manager Update - Save a view of a specific manager and your own custom tearsheet, or save a comparison view of your managers (up to 30) to check on refreshed data prior to a monthly update.

How do I save a view?

In Analysis or Compare, click the “Save View” button at the top of the screen, enter a new name for the view, and click “Save View.”

If you wish to update a saved view, make any desired changes within that view then click the “Save View” button and enter a new name for the view.

In Studio or Report Lab, click the save icon at the top left hand side to save the report. To save a copy of the report, click “Save As” and assign a new name.

What is not saved in a view?

When saving an “Analysis View” on any analysis page, you must first save any changes made to benchmarks and proxies, as well as portfolio line-up and weights using the "Save" or "Save as..." buttons within the allocation panel, in order for them to be reflected in a "Saved View". If you make changes to any of these elements without saving in the allocation panel first, these changes will not be reflected when you revisit the "Analysis View”.

Additionally, the portfolio allocations or the investment or portfolio’s benchmark and proxy configurations will not be saved in a view. For example, if you save a view and make changes to the portfolio’s asset allocation, you will see the updated asset allocation the next time you open the saved view instead of the asset allocation at the time the view was saved.

How do I access saved views?

To access the views you have saved, navigate to the “Reporting” or “Saved Views” button on the left side navigation. The Saved Views library will show a list of all saved Analysis or Compare views as well as any Studio and/or Report Lab reports and templates saved to the workspace.

Can others view my saved views? What can I share?

Your saved views are visible to others in your organization by default, additionally, you can directly share a copy of a saved view with others in your organization by sharing a saved view’s URL. Saved views are not visible to anyone outside of your organization.

Can I revoke access to a saved view?

Until you delete a saved view, teammates will continue to be able to see it on the “Reporting” or “Saved View” page. Saved views can be removed by clicking on the “...” icon and clicking “delete”.

Exporting Views

Note: exporting capabilities outlined in this section are available on a limited basis. Please contact your Client Solutions representative for enhanced reporting and exporting options. Additional fees may apply.

How do I export data from an analysis view?

To export data in PDF or Excel format from an analysis view, click the “Export” button in the top bar and select the format you wish to export. To export data for a specific analysis block only, click the download icon at the top right corner of each analysis block.

What data can and cannot be exported from a view?

User-uploaded data and system data may be exported in PNG format for “Analysis Views” and PDF format for Studio and Report Lab reports.

All user-uploaded data may be exported in Excel format for “Analysis Views,” “Compare Views”, and Studio and Report Lab reports.

System data, or portfolios containing system data, have some restrictions for exporting - certain analysis blocks do not permit exporting system fund data in Excel format due to third party data licensing restrictions, including the following:

  • Cumulative Return

  • Rolling Return

  • Calendar Returns

Furthermore, Report Lab reports containing restricted data can only be exported into an internal-use PDF, which includes a watermark. Data licenses directly with the third party data provider may be required to remove the watermark. For more information on restricted data in Report Lab, please refer to this article or reach out to your Client Solutions representative.

This document highlights certain aspects of this feature. As an overview, it does not discuss all material facts or assumptions. Please see Important Disclosure and Disclaimer Information.

Did this answer your question?